SPANISH Team Football Shirts

spanish teams

Football is the number one sport in Spain. Spanish football teams are controlled by the Royal Spanish Football Federation (RFEF), although the two main categories (1st and 2nd division) are regulated by the Professional Football League (LFP). The lower categories were restructured in 2020 to coincide with the world pandemic and are currently 1st Federation (2 groups of 20 teams), 2nd Federation (5 groups of 16 teams) and 3rd Federation (18 groups of 16 teams).

The Spanish league is, along with the English Premier League, the most followed club competition after the NBA and the Champions League. It has millions of fans around the world. Real Madrid (the most successful club in the world) and FC Barcelona are the two Spanish teams with the most fans worldwide. They are followed by Atlético de Madrid, Sevilla CF, Valencia CF, Real Betis, … In addition, Real Madrid and Barcelona are the only two Spanish teams to have won the European Cup (14 and 5 times respectively), although Atlético de Madrid and Valencia were runners-up on several occasions.

The Spanish national football team, usually called ‘La Roja’, is one of the strongest teams in the world, having won the World Cup once (South Africa 2010) and the European Nations Cup three times (1964, 2008 and 2012).

You can visit the website of the Spanish Football Federation in this link.